the House is granted a dissolution and is defeated in the ensuing general election then, should no clear majority be indicated, the Government may decide (1) to remain in office and seek a vote of confidence in the House when it meets or (2) to resign immediately with the consequent result that the Governor General will ask the leader of the party with the highest number of members returned to form a new Government. These alternatives may also eventuate as a result of a general election subsequent to the normal dissolution of Parliament at or near the close of its statutory life.

The primary responsibility of the Governor General in either of the above circumstances is to provide the nation with a Cabinet or Ministry capable of conducting Her Majesty's Government with the support of the House of Commons.

Although appointed by the Governor General, Cabinet members are selected by the Prime Minister from among his party colleagues in such manner as to ensure, as far as possible, representation of the several geographical and political regions of the country and its principal ethnic, religious and social interests. Each Cabinet Minister generally assumes charge of one of the departments of government, although a Minister may hold more than one portfolio at the same time or he may hold one or more portfolios and one or more acting portfolios, or a Minister without Portfolio may hold one or more acting portfolios. In his acting capacity, the Minister exercises the same authority as if he were the Minister of the department. Sessional and other allowances received by Cabinet Ministers are given at p. 70.

Ministry	Prime Minister	Length of Administration
1	Rt. Hon. Sir John Alexander Macdonald	July 1, 1867 — Nov. 5, 1873
2	Hon. Alexander Mackenzie,	Nov. 7, 1873 - Oct. 16, 1878
3	Rt. Hon. Sir John Alexander Macdonald	Oct. 17, 1878 — June 6, 1891
4	Hon. Sir John Joseph Caldwell Abbott	June 16, 1891 — Nov. 24, 1892
5	Rt. Hon. Sir John Sparrow David Thompson	Dec. 5, 1892 - Dec. 12, 1894
6	Hon. Sir Mackenzie Bowell	Dec. 21, 1894 — Apr. 27, 1896
7	Hon. Sir Charles Tupper	May 1, 1896 — July 8, 1896
8	Rt. Hon. Sir WILFRID LAURIER	July 11, 1896 — Oct. 6, 1911
9	Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird Borden	Oct. 10, 1911 — Oct. 12, 1917 (Conservative Administration)
10	Rt. Hon. Sir Robert Laird Borden	Oct. 12, 1917 — July 10, 1920 (Unionist Administration)
11	Rt. Hon. Arthur Meighen	July 10, 1920 — Dec. 29, 1921 (Unionist—"National Liberal and Conservative Party")
12	Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King	Dec. 29, 1921 — June 28, 1926
13	Rt. Hon. ARTHUR MEIGHEN	June 29, 1926 — Sept. 25, 1926
14	Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King	Sept. 25, 1926 — Aug. 6, 1930
15	Rt. Hon. RICHARD BEDFORD BENNETT	Aug. 7, 1930 — Oct. 23, 1935
16	Rt. Hon. William Lyon Mackenzie King	Oct. 23, 1935 - Nov. 15, 1948
17	Rt. Hon. LOUIS STEPHEN ST. LAURENT	Nov. 15, 1948 — June 21, 1957
18	Rt. Hon. John George Diefenbaker	June 21, 1957 —

3.—Prime Ministers since Confederation, 1867